Indian Prime Minister Election Results at a Glance

Indian Prime Minister Election Results at a Glance

The ruling BJP suffered a significant dent in its vote bank and did not secure the magic number in the Prime Minister Election results. The opposition saw a significant lead compared to the last Lok Sabha elections.

Indian elections for the Prime Minister’s chair were concluded on June 1, 2024. A total of 6 national, 57 state, and 2,764 unrecognized parties participated in the elections. However, most parties were divided into two main alliances: INDIA and NDA.

NDA (National Democratic Alliance)

The Bharatiya Janata Party-led National Democratic Alliance is the ruling group in Indian politics. Prime Minister Narendra Modi is the main leader of the NDA, although Amit Shah is its Chairman on paper.

INDIA (Indian National Developmental Inclusive Alliance)

The newly formed INDIA alliance is the main opposition to the Bharatiya Janata Party in the country. Most opposition parties and their leaders are part of the INDIA alliance, including Arvind Kejriwal, Mallikarjun Kharge, Rahul Gandhi, and Akhilesh Yadav.

The fight was primarily between the INDIA and NDA alliances in the Prime Minister Election. As usual, the BJP was the main face of the NDA, while the Indian National Congress led India.

NDA Seats

Narendra Modi’s NDA performed poorly compared to their performance in 2019. Modi’s BJP won a total of 303 seats in the 2019 elections. However, in 2024, the Bharatiya Janata Party secured only 240 seats.

Similarly, the entire NDA alliance performed badly in 2024. In the 2019 general elections, NDA won 50 seats, excluding the Bharatiya Janata Party. The overall score of the National Democratic Alliance in 2019 was 353. However, in 2024, NDA secured only 294 seats, a total loss of 59 seats.


The INDIA alliance did not meet the magic number of the majority; however, they fought well. Akhilesh Yadav, the leader Samajwadi Party, changed the game for the opposition completely. In 2019, he had only five seats; however, in 2024, Yadav secured 37 seats. He gained 32 seats this year, delivering the biggest blow to the ruling party.

The main party in the alliance was the Indian National Congress, and the results of the Prime Minister election highly favored Congress. In 2019, INC won only 44 seats; they added 55 seats in 2024.

The entire INDIA alliance secured 233 seats in the 2024 Prime Minister election results. However, they did not reach the magic majority number of 272 MPs.

Who will form the government in India?

No single party has the majority (272) seats to form the government independently. Both BJP and Congress are capable of forming governments with the support of other parties. Therefore, it is too early to declare anyone the future Prime Minister of India.

However, the NDA alliance has the majority, and with the support of all its allies, Narendra Modi can easily form the government. Additionally, if some NDA allies switch sides, INDIA can also form a government.

We will soon bring complete updates and highlights of the Indian Prime Minister Election results.

Also read: Maldives Banned Israeli Citizens from Entering the Country

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Enable Notifications Accept No thanks