IPL Captains 2024: List of All 10 Captains

IPL captains 2024

Check the list of IPL captains 2024 along with the complete list of all retained players for all 10 Franchises. 


The upcoming season of IPL has been making a lot of headlines in recent times. The anticipation has increased a lot since Hardik Pandya came to Mumbai from Gujarat, which has increased the curiosity among the fans about the new captain. 


There is also speculation about whether Dhoni will captain Chennai again this season or some young player will be given the chance to captain the team. It is challenging to predict the exact leaders of IPL teams in the upcoming season. 


However, experts are speculating based on potential player retention. Here is the list of possible captains of all 10 teams in the upcoming season.


Chennai Super Kings: Chennai Super Kings has again retained its star player and farmer captain M.S. Dhoni. Following last year’s victory under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni, speculations arose that he might conclude his franchise cricket journey on this winning note of his IPL career. However, with the retention of Chinnathala, there are indications that Mahi will continue to lead Chennai in the upcoming season. 


Ruturaj Gaikwad can be another choice of captaincy in the absence of Dhoni. 


Delhi Capitals: Farmer DC captain Rishabh Pant is still on the bed and is probably out of this IPL season. If he does not recover early before the IPL matches start, there are chances for David Warner to lead Delhi Capitals. 


David Warner has led Delhi Capitals in the 2023 IPL season as well. 


Gujarat Titans: This new IPL franchise has lost its farmer and most successful captain Hardik Pandya. After trading Hardik Pandya, Gujarat Titans has announced Shubhman Gill as their new captain. 


Rashid Khan can also be a choice in absence of Shubhman Gill for GT. 


Kolkata Knight Riders: Shreyas Iyer was the best choice for Kolkata Knight Riders before the 2023 IPL season. However, in absence of Shreyas Iyer, Nitish Rana has proved his excellence as a captain in 2023. 


Shreyas Iyer and Nitish Rana are top picks for KKR captaincy. It will be interesting to see who the management chooses.


Mumbai Indians: Indian star player Rohit Sharma has been the best choice as a captain in recent previous IPL seasons. However, Rohit Sharma has not played even a single T20 match since the 2022 T20 World Cup. 


Rohit Sharma remains the top contender, but there’s also a possibility of Hardik Pandya being considered for MI captaincy.


Punjab Kings: It is expected that Shikhar Dhawan will continue leading the PBKS team. However, Sam Curran can also be a choice for long-term captaincy. 


Rajasthan Royals: Sanju Samson is deemed the best fit for the captaincy role at Rajasthan Royals, and he has consistently proven himself in that capacity. Despite his notable performances, Indian selectors haven’t yet recognized him as a permanent team member. Regardless, he is expected to continue as the captain of RR.


Royal Challengers Bangalore: Faf du Plessis may lead this time as well to help RCB achieve at least one IPL trophy. However, RCB management will also look for a future captain. 


Sunrisers Hyderabad: Aiden Markram will be seen as the captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad. 


This list of IPL captains 2024 is highly inspired by a report by Wisden. Certain changes are possible in this list. 

One thought on “IPL Captains 2024: List of All 10 Captains

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Enable Notifications Accept No thanks